Three individuals have been honored by the Wisconsin Law Alumni Association (WLAA) with the 2009 “Teacher of the Year” awards in recognition of outstanding classroom instruction at the University of Wisconsin Law School.

Allison Christians was chosen Teacher of the Year from among all eligible tenure-track professors at the Law School by a poll of the three most recent classes (excluding the graduating class). Christians joined the law faculty in 2005, after practicing tax law at Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz in New York City. She has written several articles and book chapters addressing national and international policy, globalization, competition, institutional, and development aspects of taxation and is co-author of a leading casebook on U.S. international tax law. A profile and interview of Professor Christians can be found here.

Marsha Mansfield has been named the Law School’s 2009 Clinical Teacher of the Year. Mansfield, Director of the Economic Justice Institute at the Law School’s Frank J. Remington Center, joined the Law School clinical faculty in 2002, after teaching pre-trial advocacy and general practice courses beginning in 1993. She is a past president of the Dane County Bar Association, and the 2009 recipient of the Marygold Melli Achievement Award, which recognizes significant contributions to women in the law. A graduate of the Law School’s Class of 1984, she began practice at Lawton & Cates, achieving partner status and now serving of counsel.

The Honorable Robert D. Martin is the 2009 recipient of the Warren H. Stolper Award, also known as the Adjunct of the Year Award, which recognizes excellence in on the part of an adjunct professor. Judge Martin, previously an attorney with Ross & Stevens, S.C., was appointed Chief United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Western District of Wisconsin in 1978. He is co-author of Ginsberg & Martin on Bankruptcy (three volumes), published in 2000, and has taught debtor/creditor, general practice, farm credit, and advanced bankruptcy courses at the UW Law School.

All three awards were announced and presented at the 2009 UW Law School Board of Visitors Meeting in Madison on November 5, 2009.  

This article appears in the categories: Articles